{
  "id": 16482409,
  "title": "Nvidia discusses $2,000-per-GPU annual fee for software that 'runs agents on AI factories'",
  "url": "https://urgent.news/2026/10/25/nvidia-discusses-2-000-per-gpu-annual-fee-for-software-that-runs",
  "topic": "ai",
  "section": "AI",
  "published": "2026-10-25T13:00:00.000Z",
  "source": {
    "name": "Tom's Hardware",
    "slug": "tom-s-hardware",
    "url": "https://www.tomshardware.com/pc-components/gpus/nvidia-discusses-usd2-000-per-gpu-annual-software-fee-for-running-agents-on-ai-infrastructure-firm-already-charges-more-than-twice-that-amount-for-its-ai-enterprise-software-platform"
  },
  "original_language": "en",
  "account": "Nvidia CEO Jensen Huang announced an estimated annual cost of about $2,000 per GPU for licensing the company's AI software, according to a recent video of his comments at GTC Berlin on October 22. The pricing model, if applied to five million paid licenses, could generate $50 billion in revenue over five years. Huang emphasized that software licensing will become a significant part of Nvidia's business moving forward, with the $2,000 per GPU per year fee covering all software provided for AI agents on AI factories. However, Nvidia has not disclosed the exact number of GPUs covered by this fee or its standard price. The company also has not specified which software the license would cover or if there is overlap between products. This potential revenue stream aligns with Huang's broader strategy of expanding Nvidia beyond a chip supplier to include networking, systems, enterprise software, and infrastructure for running AI workloads.",
  "summary": "Nvidia CEO Jensen Huang is reportedly weighing annual software fees of around $2,000 per GPU for enterprise AI, a model that could generate $10 billion a year if five million licenses were sold. The pricing and launch timeline remain unconfirmed, while Nvidia continues to expand its AI software and security tools for enterprise customers.",
  "key_points": [],
  "editors_take": null,
  "illustration": null,
  "coverage": {
    "outlets": 1,
    "also_reported_by": []
  },
  "ai_generated": true,
  "disclaimer": "Summaries, key points and the editor’s take are written by software from other outlets’ reporting and may contain errors — always check the linked original."
}